The recent report of PM Cares Relief Fund has led to scams where scammers tricked users into giving details by sending those messages.
Social media platforms come with a block option that lets you blacklist people. Blocking is the best way to prevent someone from sending you messages, images, and calling you.
WhatsApp lets users block/unblock contacts. It does not send a notification to the person informing them that he has got blocked by someone.
There is no way to ensure that you got blocked by someone, but you can look for hints to confirm your suspicions. If you are in a situation, where you find yourself blocked by someone but you aren’t sure, try these tips:
Tips to confirm whether you got blacklisted on WhatsApp
Check for Status or other details
The first thing you can do is open the WhatsApp chat window. A timestamp appears beneath their name. If you find the words “Last Seen”, then you aren’t blocked.
You won’t be able to see the details in case you got blocked by him/her.
WhatsApp lets the users limit their status, image, or other details to themselves. Users can reset the Privacy Settings to “Only Me”. You can confirm with a common friend. If your friend can see the account details but you can’t if you got blocked.
Look for changes in Profile Picture
This is similar to the previous method but has more authenticity. This is because people are more willing to show their profile picture and less likely to show their “Last Seen” or Active status.
You can open the profile of blocked contact and check their profile picture.
In case you got blocked by someone, you won’t be able to see changes in the profile picture. Blocked contacts will see the profile picture before the blocking happened.
Message your blocked contact
This concerns the ticks (grey, blue and green icons that appear on the bottom right of the message). This guarantees whether the user received, read, or has seen the message.
If someone has blackballed you then it’s obvious that you won’t be able to message him/her. You will always find see a grey tick below the text.
In other cases, you will see one or two ticks next to the message. You will find these three methods reliable. But to be 100% sure of the presumed contact, we need something more.
Firstly, you need to combine all the available data. Combine the information you have received from the three techniques. Then check for inconsistencies with the use of the app by the suspected contact.
It might appear to be confusing, so let’s make it clear with an example.
You want to find out if your contact Jerry has blocked the WhatsApp account. After opening the WhatsApp account you find that his “Last Seen” does not appear.
You also notice that his Profile Picture has disappeared; and you can’t see double ticks on your messages. Jerry has blocked you.
To be sure, you can search for your memory to see how often Jerry used WhatsApp. It’s likely for you to experience one of these two scenarios:
- If your contact used WhatsApp rarely, then check often for 7 days. If you notice changes (like absence or presence of a profile picture) then you have got your answer. The person has blocked you.
- If your contact used WhatsApp many times a day, then it’s clear. You got blocked.
Create a WhatsApp group with the suspected contact
Please note that the above attempts can fail by a network error. So you can’t consider this as a conclusion that you have got blocked. This method will clear all the doubts you have.
You can try forming a WhatsApp with the suspected contact. If a message saying you are not authorized to add this contact appears on the screen, then you got blocked for sure.
What happens when a contact blocks you on WhatsApp?
- You can’t send or receive a message from the suspect.
- You can’t call the contact.
- You will not be able to see the details –WhatsApp Status, last seen, or changes to a profile picture.
- Still, these don’t guarantee that you can discover by whom you got blocked.
You can do the following:
Create a new WhatsApp group.
Try adding the suspected contact to the group.
- If you got blocked on WhatsApp, you will receive a message saying ‘You are not authorized to add this contact’. This implies that you got blocked.
- If you aren’t blocked then the contact will get added to the group.
- If you didn’t get blocked, then the suspect gets added to a dummy group and will surely think ‘why he got added’.
So before going for the group test, you can check other indicators to make sure that your suspect is floored.
Use WhatsApp Tracker
In case you suspect that your friend has blocked you to avoid knowing about an affair, you can install the mSpy app on their Smartphone. mSpy is spyware that you can install on Android, Apple and Windows devices.
It helps to keep track of every received or dialed call on WhatsApp with jailbroken iPhone or Rooted Android Phone.
You can find the call logs on the mSpy control panel. Moreover, you will be able to see sent, received or deleted messages remotely from the mSpy control panel.
If you follow the above methods, you can make sure whether or not you got blocked on WhatsApp.
You may ask –If I get blocked on WhatsApp what can I do to unblock myself. Unfortunately, if you get blocked on WhatsApp you can do nothing to unblock yourself.
The best thing you can do is reach out to your friend with a call and ask him what is going on.